Fit Friday’s Recipes!

Happy Friday, y’all! I always have a sense of accomplishment when I’ve survived until Friday. I have no idea why, I just do. This weekend I have a much needed hair appointment with my amazing hair guru. Most of the time my hair is in a bun, unwashed or if washed, air dried with curls. I rarely take the time to blow dry and style it. He says that’s why it is so healthy. Miss SassyPants also has a birthday party to attend. She is beyond excited to celebrate with her friend. Hubby will have the ultimate “dad duty” managing both kids while there, because I can only stay an hour. Hopefully we can work in some pool time too. Now, onto my first favorite F word…food.

Yay! Finally, the Asian inspired healthy recipes I’ve been promising for two weeks now! [Sorry about that!] My first recipe is a play on Kung Pao Chicken by Fit Foodie Finds. It can be adapted to the Paleo diet if you swap traditional soy sauce with coconut aminos. I used half Bragg Liquid Aminos and low sodium soy sauce. Because I make enough for leftovers or indivdual freezer meals, I use larger amounts of the ingredients. Also, I never follow a recipe exactly. I make everything to accommodate my tastebuds and health choices.

What You’ll Need: 1 package of ~ 3 large chicken breasts, sliced thinly/ ~ 2 TBS of minced garlic (I love garlic!)/ 1 tsp of coconut oil/ 1 TBS sesame oil/ 1-1.5 # of green beans, fresh or frozen/ 2 TBS soy sauce or amino mix/ 1/2 TBS chili paste (or if you like spicy: 1 TBS Sriacha & 1TBS chili paste!)/ ~ 1 TBS of honey/ a dash of salt or pepper (I think the soy sauce adds enough salt)/ 1 tsp of toasted sesame seeds/ Optional: add toasted peanuts or cashews (I didn’t)

What You’ll Do: 1) Prepare chicken my slicing and peppering, set aside. Prep green beans by cutting off the ends (& chopping into bite sized length, if you like), set aside. Prepare stir fry sauce by combining: aminos/soy sauce, chili paste/sriacha, & honey to sit aside. 2) In a wok or large pan (I used cast iron.), heat coconut oil on med-high heat, add 1 TBS of garlic to brown. (Inhale the sautéing garlic smell!) 3) Add chicken & cook for ~ 5 minutes or until partially cooked, then removed from pan. 4) In the same pan, add 1 TBS Sesame oil & 1 TBS garlic, turn the heat up to a low high (or # 8, if your stove top is numbered), add the green beans and sauté for ~ 7 minutes until softening. 5) Add the chicken back in and cook for 5-7 more minutes, until the chicken is cooked through. 6) Add the stir fry sauce in, reduce the heat to low/low medium and simmer for 5-8 minutes. 7) Remove pan from heat and add your toasted sesame seeds and optional peanuts/cashews, allow to sit for ~ 3 minutes for the sauce to thicken. 8) Then, enjoy!

Along with this recipe, I added my adaptation of Damn Delicious’s Asian Roasted Carrots & Brocolli. I found the amount of sesame oil and olive oil to be way too much (& high in fats!) So, I omitted the olive oil, for the exception to lightly coat my baking sheet. I also reduced the amount of sesame oil from 2 tsp to 1tsp. If I have extra veggies, like zucchini, squash, or onion…I’ll add those to the carrots after ~ 15 minutes of baking, then the broccoli later.

What You’ll Need: 1# baby peeled carrots (or regular peeled and small-medium chopped carrots)/ 1# brocolli florets (I buy an entire brocolli, chop the head into florets, and peel and chop the stem too)/ 3 TBS of soy sauce or aminos/soy sauce mixture/ 1 TBS Honey or Brown Sugar/ 1 tsp sesame oil/ 1 tsp rice vinegar/ Optional add of 1 tsp sriacha/ 2 TBS minced garlic/ Optional 1 tsp toasted sesame seeds

What You’ll Do: 1) Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Prep baking pan. 2) Whisk together the soy sauce mix/ honey or brown sugar/ sesame oil/ rice vinegar/ & optional siracha in a small bowl, set aside. 3) In a single layer, place carrots on baking pan and toss on pan to coat in olive oil, sprinkle with some minced garlic. 4) Bake in oven for ~ 20-25 minutes. Then, mix in the broccoli with 7-10 minutes of baking time to go. 5) When veggies are tender enough to your liking, remove and toss with sauce mixture. Allow the veggies to sit in the sauce for a few minutes and sprinkle your optional sesame seeds on there. Voila! (Last time, I poured the soy sauce mixture in with the brocoli for the last few minutes of cooking and liked it better! It made the sauce cook to the veggies some.)

My last Asian inspired recipe is a play on egg rolls. I love a fried egg roll! But goodness, they are high in carbs and fats! So, this is adapted from Happy Money Saver. I edited the recipe to healthier standards, omitted the chicken and water chestnuts, and substituted broccoli sprouts for bean sprouts. You can keep those, but I dislike water chestnuts, couldn’t find fresh bean sprouts, and prefer vegetable egg rolls with a meal.

What You’ll Need: 2 cups shredded cabbage/ 1 cup shredded or diced carrots/ 2 sliced green onions/ 1 tsp minced garlic/ ~ 3 TBS broccoli sprouts/ 1.5 TBS coconut oil (for sautéing)/ ~16 wonton or egg roll wrappers/ 4 tsp cornstarch/ 1 TBS water/ 1 TBS soy sauce/ 1 TBS rice vinegar/ 1 tsp. Sesame oil/ 1/4 tsp ground ginger/ 1 beaten egg white

What You’ll Do: 1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees F and lightly spray or rub baking pan with olive or coconut oil. 2) In a large pot, melt 1.5 TBS coconut oil to sauté cabbage, carrots, green onion, garlic, and broccoli sprouts until tender, ~ 5 minutes on med-high heat. 3) Whisk together cornstarch, water, soy sauce, sesame oil, rice vinegar, and ginger. 4) Add mixture to veggies and cook for a couple more minutes. 5) Remove from heat and allow to cool until you can easily handle veggies. 6) Open egg roll wrappers (keep covered with a damp towel, so they will not dry out!), work with wrapper in a diamond shape towards you on a cutting board or counter. 7) Fill with ~ 1/3 cup veggie mixture in middle of wrapper. To fold, meet side corners to middle, pull bottom corner over mixture, and roll. Leave top corner exposed to spread beaten egg white onto corner to seal close. 8) Repeat until veggie mixture is used. 9) Place egg rolls on baking pan(seam side down), lightly spray tops of egg rolls with olive oil or coconut oil, bake for 6 minutes, turn over, and bake for another 6 minutes. Now, you can either serve them with the meal OR if you have any extras, allow them to cool, and freeze them. Yes, they are freezer friendly! If you freeze them, once cool, flash freeze on pan for a couple of hours, then place in a Ziplock freezer bag, just re-heat by heating oven to 350 degrees F and bake for ~ 18-20 minutes. They are just as delicious! 


And those are my healthified Asian inspired recipes! It satisfies the Asian take out cravings, without ruining all of your hard work in the fitness deptartment. 

Have an awesome weekend, Loves!

Leave a Reply

