Technology Fail & Healthy Recipes

Computers and I are not friends. Last Wednesday I knew I wouldn’t be able to post on the blog due to a therapy appointment. I thought ahead, worked on a post Tuesday, saved it, and arranged for it to be posted on Wednesday. Well, that didn’t happen according to plan. Turns out, the post didn’t even save! So, here I am…redoing the post tonight. Lucky for you, I’m able to add a review of a new “fit” food product.

One of my favorite low carb items to use in my cooking is spaghetti squash. I like to roast them until tender and then fill them with healthy options. I use them to make lasagna boats, chicken parmigiana boats, taco boats, enchilada boats, and even a play on mac and cheese. 

Here, I did a play on lasagna. I sautéed red onions, added ground turkey, and seasoned it using FlavorGod’s Garlic Lovers. I stuffed all of it in a roasted spaghetti squash. I topped that with mozzarella cheese, a tomato sauce, and a sprinkle of parmesan cheese.  I stuck it in the oven for 15 minutes to melt the cheese.

I love pizza. But it is incredibly high in carbs and fat! An alternative I like to use is Joseph’s pita bread, turkey pepperoni, a simple pizza sauce, mozzarella cheese, and whatever healthy toppings you prefer. 

They make perfectly sized personal pizzas! My favorite way to make the pizza is a white cheese and spinach. If I’m splurging I will use ricotta cheese and mozzarella; but if I want to be extra healthy, I will use cottage cheese and mozzarella. Here are a few examples:


I like to make two at a time to have one for lunch. These pair well with a kale salad, by the way. I found another pizza alternative in the freezer aisle in Kroger yesterday. 

These are amazing! You can microwave them or bake in the oven for 30 minutes. I always prefer oven baked frozen pizzas to microwaved ones. Unfortunately, my oven didn’t need 30 minutes to heat it.

 It was over cooked a tad, but still tasted amazing. The serving size is a half of the pizza. You might think, “What?! That’s so small!” However, because the crust is actually ground chicken breast and parmesan cheese; it is high in protein. This also pairs perfectly with a kale salad. Here is the nutritional info in the back of the box. 

The price is rather steep, so I will only be purchasing if I’m having a huge pizza craving. 

Remember, eating healthy isn’t the only component to being healthy. You have to exercise too! I’ve been alternating between running and weight lifting. I love to run because it clears my head. The downside to running, is that you are dependent on the weather. It’s been raining here! So, when I can’t run; I’m in my garage lifting weights, using resistance bands, and doing cardio through a few HIIT moves. Burpees, mountain climbers, jumping jacks, etc. 

You also need to make room for treats, especially if you have kids. So when my daughter wants an ice cream sundae, I break out my Halo ice cream. If you haven’t tried it; do! It’s a life changer. I haven’t found a flavor I don’t like. My favorite is the chocolate chip cookie dough though. 

Next week I will have a total meal recipe for you. A healthier version of egg rolls, Asian veggies, and Kung Pao chicken for that Chinese takeout craving. Tomorrow I’m trying out a crustless veggie quiche. So far my quiche ideas have not turned out so well. Hopefully, this one will be the one. Fingers crossed! 

Do you have any healthier food suggestions you would like to share? Maybe a product you couldn’t live without on your fit journey? I would love to know! 

Leave a Reply

