Back In Bama

Hello? You still there? I’ve really neglected this blog. And I feel terrible about it. 

I also feel like I’ve been on a non-stop roller coaster. I thought things would calm down after SP’s 4th birthday and the end of the school programs; but it hasn’t. Over Mother’s Day weekend, we had to travel to Atlanta for our son’s PKU appointment with his nutritionist. To be open and honest…it was emotionally difficult for me. Hubby tried to make the weekend special for me; but my dark cloud of depression loomed over. Every time I have to return to Atlanta for his appointments, I have a hard time. On the drive up there I remember being so scared and worried for my 5 day old boy. Once we arrived, exhausted from worry and crying, they dumped tons of medical procedures, jargon, and “what ifs” about treatment for him. It was like an out-of-body experience. I just sat there stunned and watched the whirlwind of people around me enter and leave the room. There was no sympathy or understanding as to why I was crying. So, returning to the clinic every three months is difficult. Hubby did grab takeout from The Cheesecake Factory. Who doesn’t like Cheesecake Factory?! Unfortunately that night SP had an upset stomach from the antibiotic she was taking. The Friday before we left I had to take her to the pediatrician for her yearly sinus crud and an ear infection. Oh, the joys of living in Savannah. All of our allergies are messed up. We slept for maybe 4 hours in total. I came back home exhausted. Gymnastics, wellness check ups, and such has kept me busy during the week too. Since I’m a glutton for punishment, I said “What the heck, let’s make this even more stressful! I’m going to Alabama for Memorial Day weekend!” 

That’s what I did. I left Savannah at 8 AM with the two kiddos. We drove through 3 patches of rough weather and finally made it to my Grandmother’s house. I’m going to take the kids to Auburn, do some neighborhood scouting, self tour the University, update my fan gear, and eat at Toomer’s Corner…all before nap time. Wish me luck! My poor husband has been left to care for himself. I hope he makes it.

I will be better at posting on here though!

Super exciting news for my midwifery followers: Our voices were heard! HB 315 passed with HB 316 as an amendment last the last possible minute. Governor Ivey signed the bill today. Alabama is the 33rd state to legalize CPMs. Not only that, there will be a midwifery regulation board set up too. Midwives are free in Alabama! Unfortunately, 1/3rd of Alabama women will not qualify to use a CPM with the amendment that excludes VBACs (Vaginal Birth After Cesarean). My heart pours out to these women, many of them wanting to use a midwife due to the trauma sustained during the c-section. However, it is nice to see some progression within the state.

Leave a Reply

