Spring Cleaning & Recipe

Hello Friday! It is safe to say, I’m excited for the weekend. I’m not doing anything spectacular. Unless you consider cleaning the house spectacular, which most do not. I’m going to give this house a good spring cleaning by vacuuming, cleaning toilets, sweeping, mopping, dusting, windexing, cleaning inside the fridge, and other commonly skipped over areas. I also need to go to Hobby Lobby to buy fabric to practice on my embroidery machine. I want to try my hand at making hooded towels for LB and SP. SP’s birthday is coming up in a month; and she wants an appliqué Paw Patrol shirt. So, yeah, I need to get on that. Haha! I love the idea of sewing. I’m just not good at it. 

 (I can’t get enough of these “hey girl” memes.) Then, I need to run by Cracker Barrel to find Easter/Spring outfits for the kids to wear to church or picture day coming up next week. (Momma been dropping the ball on that stuff!) Of course, there is always the need to buy groceries. I make weekly meal plans. The downside to that is buying fresh fruits and vegetables that will last until Friday. Many don’t. 

Some where among that I will need to workout too. I’m proud of myself. This week I was able to workout every day. I’m trying to jumpstart my metabolism. It really took a hit when I began the Zoloft. I went two months suffering with post-partum depression before I could get an appointment to see a therapist. SHe immediately put me on Zoloft , after I told her I disliked anti-depressants. While the anti-deppressant does help me stop crying, that’s all it does. I still have intense anxiety, depression, easily gain weight, and my other hormones are greatly affected. After two months of rapid weight gain (try 15 pounds!), nausea, extreme tiredness, and other negative side effects; I quit taking them. Not to mention the therapist has cancelled several appointments and I’ve had to wait another month to see her. You know when your therapist adds to your anxiety; y’all need to break up. And that’s what I’m doing. Hopefully, I can find another therapist that will actually help me. The term fitness is commonly associated with physical health; but you also need to be mentally fit too. 

On Monday, I promised a healthy recipe for today. I made Taco Stuffed Bell Peppers with Mexican Street Corn Salad. They were so delicious, that I forgot to take pictures. Oops! I used lean ground beef, throughly cooked it in a skillet, and seasoned it with FlavorGod’s Taco Tuesday. I sliced green bell peppers in half and cleaned out the seeds. I baked the peppers in the oven for 15 mins at 400 degrees F just to brown them a little. This also pulled out a lot of the water, so I was able to drain them before stuffing them. I stuffed them when the ground beef, topped it with a little cheddar cheese. (It’s what I had.) Stuck those bad boys in the oven to melt the cheese. The Mexican Street Corn Salad is simple. You can use canned fire roasted corn kernels. Or buy fresh corn to grill, then cut the kernels off. Mix corn with black beans, cilantro, tomato (or red bell pepper), a squirt of lime juice, a clove or two of garlic, and sprinkle of cotija cheese (couldn’t find any here) or feta cheese. You serve it warm or cold. I liked it cold. This meal packed a tastebud punch. 

I hope you enjoy the recipe and your weekend! Blog ya on Monday!

Leave a Reply

