Hometown Shenanigans 

Last Wednesday, I packed the kids and myself up and headed toward my hometown. SP had a St. Patrick’s Day parade at her school, then was released early. Savannah becomes a giant party for St. Patrick’s Day, so all schools are cancelled for the holiday. Not to mention the influx of tourists for the celebration. We decided to leave town, but Hubby had to work until Friday. My grandmother opened her home to us. So, I seriously went back to my homework. The small town where I grew up and everyone knows everyone. It isn’t far from where I went to college, at Auburn University. I used the time to meet with a few gal pals. Of course, there is never enough time to hangout with all of them. It breaks my heart too. Although I packed my iPad to blog, I simply forgot. Oops!

My best friend of 12 years (my unbiological sister) and I met for lunch. Then, we met for dinner the next day and she talked me into going to a bar to listen to one of her friend’s band. The band was awesome! (Check out Five Shot Jack.) I haven’t been in a bar for three years. (I’m a hermit and a mom.) It had a swanky, 1920’s, speakeasy vibe. I wish I could have stayed longer, but I knew mom duty would be calling me quickly the next morning. I also met up with another friend to give her a few baby clothes that LB out grew. Her little baby boy will be here before we know it and I just cannot wait. Ahhhh! Hubby and I were able to slip away for a lunch date at a popular cafe on Lake Martin. I ate there every Friday or Saturday growing up. So when Hubby and I began dating, I introduced him to the cafe too. It became a favorite for him too. On my last day there, I was able to meet up with my best friend in high school. We hadn’t seen each other in 8 years, since my wedding. Our lives became busy and we lost touch. This weekend, we just picked right back up where we left off. Meeting her reminded me why we were such great friends in high school. 

Going back home was good for me. I was able to recharge some. And watching SP run around my grandmother’s yard, like I did so many years ago, just overjoyed my heart. It confirmed that my family needs to be on a farm. We need room to grow. While I would love to move back home, there aren’t jobs there for Hubby. Hopefully, we can create our own farmstead soon. 

Leave a Reply

