The Greatest Show on Earth!

Hubby and I had an overnight trip to Atlanta. I guess you could call it an extended Valentine’s Day gift to both of us. We have always wanted to see the Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Bailey circus. Of course, now being parents, we wanted to experience it with our kids. We were so sad to hear their announcement to end the show. In our opinion, our kids aren’t old enough to appreciate the circus.  If the show had been closer, the kids had their naps; then the possibility of them attending the show would have been there. Unfortunately, with SP’s SPD, she has a hard time processing loud, crowded environments; especially when she is tired. So, the Hubby and I decided to make it a kid free getaway. His parents came over to watch the kids for us.

I was having a hard time leaving the kids, specifically LB. He is a laid back baby; but with PKU, he does require more care than a normal baby. It is vital to keep his diet strict and on time to keep his PHE level in check. I tried not to allow my anxiety to overshadow the experience with my husband. But it was definitely there. I was hoping to have a chance to talk to the therapist I’ve been seeing about it; however, she has cancelled the appointment for another obligation. She is booked until my next appointment in late March. Just adding some more anxiety in there for me.

Back to our getaway: Per our usual road trips in Atlanta, we got lost trying to find the parking deck. It would have helped if it was labeled. After we finally located our parking area, we ate lunch at McCormick and Schmicks (amazing!). It was time to stand in line for 45 minutes and watch all the poor distraught parents wrangling their grumpy kids. I must admit, I was happ that wasn’t us. We were able to have an uninterrupted conversation. The circus truly is the greatest show on Earth. It lasted 2 hours; but felt like 40 minutes. I could have watched it again. Hubby knows I’ve been wanting to check out the Christian Louboutin store. So, we browsed in there and Jimmy Choo. The Hermes store closed earlier than the others, which was disappointing. We needed to go ahead and check into our hotel, so we got lost some more no thanks to the GPS instructing us to turn too early. Once there and checked in, we had a mission to buy Hubby new dress pants for work and a office trip coming up. I also needed a new bra; because the wire broke while I picked up LB one day. It was my favorite bra…RIP. Victoria’s Secret was running a good sale…and we all know how I love a good sale. There is a funny to this story. I picked out the bra I thought I would need and one of the girls wanted to measure me to confirm I was picking out the right size. She measured me at a double. I looked at her and said, “Uh, like a DD?!” She said, “Yes!” Y’all, bless this girl’s heart. At my heaviest weight, I wasn’t a DD. I looked at my husband and I thought he was going to die from holding in the laughter. He wishes I was a DD. I ended up purchasing my normal size…no where near a DD. After that, we went to look in the Prada store (it was closed), along with Cartier. We wanted to eat at the Cheesecake Factory, so we skipped the Louis Vuitton store. I didn’t want to walk all the way over there for it to be closed too. Sadly, the Cheesecake Factory had a 55-70 minute wait for two people. I noticed a cheesecake only express line. We got two cheesecakes to go (what we really desired) and ate Panera. Speed walked to our hotel because the mall was closing, and relaxed and shared our cheesecake with one another. Another funny to throw in, when I began unpacking, I unpacked my oil diffuser and began diffusing some oils. Hubby looked at me and said, “You know you’ve went straight oil life when you start bringing the stuff with you.” I told him to just wait, he was going to sleep awesome. He did and now wants to diffuse the oils anytime we travel. We normally get so stuffy at hotels to where we cannot sleep. 

Overall, it was an amazing overnight getaway. Just what we need to re-connect with one another and remind each other that we really do like each other. Haha! Hubby and I are best friends. This weekend reminded us of that, because sometimes we forget in our hectic lives. 


If you get the chance to go to one of the last Ringling Bros shows, go! You will not be disappointed. 

Leave a Reply

