Months ago, the husband made plans to take SP on a hunting trip back in Alabama. She has been beyond excited to spend time with her Daddy. (Although she broke down crying on the phone telling me she loved and missed me. Husband said he had to console her several times today because she missed me. I have to admit, it made me feel good.) This gave me a much needed break. While I still have LB to care for, he is just a happy-go-lucky baby. He only fusses when he is hungry or tired. Any other time he is content jumping in his jumperoo, swinging/catnapping in his snuggapuppy, or laughing at me. He discovered his feet this afternoon. All he wants is to be able to touch them, but he can’t due to his chunky monkey size.

I was able to accomplish a lot today. I helped the husband and SP get down the road, fed LB, fed myself, began laundry, organized some paperwork, organized my essential oils, diffused “purification”, folded some laundry, put up dishes, wash dishes, go for a nice walk, sweep, mop, vacuum, windex the table, pledge the chairs and furniture, disinfected all the counters, play with LB, and watch Gilmore Girls (I’m in the last season). Something about cleaning is therapeutic for me. 

                            

I had different plans for this weekend. Unfortunately my hectic week proved too much for me and I wasn’t able to accomplish everything. I wanted to spend the time sewing LB a few bandana bibs, baby aprons, and practice monogramming on my new embroidery machine. Maybe tomorrow I can clean off my crafting table to set up the machine and finish cleaning. I need to sweep, mop, and vacuum the upstairs, prepare the guest room, clean toilets, and possibly go through SP’s clothes. Or I might drink a ton of coffee and read a few books. I’m not sure yet.

On Wednesday’s post, I talked about going to an essential oils class earlier. I had a great time and learned quite a bit from the midwife. Her main goal is to teach people proper use of essential oils and to be conscience of the grade of oils you use. Unbeknown to me, the oils she was using were Young Living, the exact oils I use. I learned a number of recipes, including one for postpartum depression, and purchased a neat book specifically written for mothers and children using the oils. My oil collection is small at the moment, but I hope to grow it over time. I’m not into selling the oils. I’m just not comfortable with that. (I always dreaded the school fundraisers.) I just enjoy using them and learning about them. It is definitely a “too each his own” thing. I know people who use the oils to completely replace the use of medications. That isn’t me. I’m more of the type to use the peppermint oil to relieve a headache; but if it doesn’t work…I’m taking some tylenol. Actually, yesterday afternoon I had a strong headache after picking up SP from school. I diffused peppermint, rubbed a little on the back of my neck, and took a 40 minute nap. When I woke up, my headache was gone; but I was still tired. I think I could have slept until the morning. The next few oils I order will be Joy, Ylang Ylang, and Clary Sage. (The midwife told some amazing stories about using clary sage oil during labor, whether it was being diffused or used with a massage. Let’s just say, I didn’t need to use it. Apparently, Clary Sage can facilitate labor. Many midwives like to use it in a massage oil during a stalled labor.) I am a total newbie; but enjoy learning about them. I just find it all fascinating.

I am going to use this weekend as a time of rejuvenation and reflection. I need and deserve it. I wish there was a mobile mani/pedi service, where they would come to your house. That would be amazing!

Leave a Reply

