PSA: The Teal Pumpkin Project

My Monday evenings have been so busy lately. By the time I cook supper, eat, get SassyPants (SP) down for bed, finish odds and ends in the kitchen; I am exhausted. My exhaustion gives me writer’s block. Plus, I’m on a time constraint because Little Brother (LB) has a 10pm feeding, and then its bed for everyone. I find it difficult to publish a meaningful post on Mondays.

I am excited for Halloween though. It is my favorite holiday to celebrate. I just like to dress up, eat candy, watch scary movies, and possibly go to a party. (Although I haven’t been to a party in some time.) As a kid I didn’t go trick or treating, but maybe twice. I didn’t dress up but a few times. We didn’t decorate the house. It just wasn’t very fun for me. I would hear all the other kids talk about all the fun things they did and I couldn’t relate. It is important for me to make those memories for my kids. SP decided months ago what everyone’s costume should be. Daddy is an astronaut. SP is an astronaut. LB is an astronaut. (However, I have convinced her to let him be an Air Force pilot, because he has that costume. She agreed, thankfully.) She chose me to be an alien. Why? I have no idea. But, I feel kinda left out. Haha! That’s ok…I will get to tax her candy…and taxes are high this year. 😉

Speaking of Halloween candy and trick or treaters, I do want to tell you about the Teal Pumpkin Project. It is an initiative for people to be mindful of kids that have food allergies. Not every kid can enjoy candy due to allergies, such as dairy or nut. So, the Food Allergy Research & Education organization began the teal pumpkin project. This is for you to place a teal pumpkin outside your door to allow these families to know you are handing out things other than candy. While this is promoted for food allergies, there are kids that cannot have candy due to genetic metabolic disorders, such as Phenylketonuria (PKU).

Many of these kids miss out of the fun of trick or treating due to not being able to eat the candy. So, put out a teal pumpkin and pass out more than candy for Halloween.

Leave a Reply

