Evacuation Vacation

When Hurricane Matthew hit Savannah, GA, we decided to evacuate to our home state of Alabama. We turned the evacuation into a vacation trip. Our newborn son has a 2:30am feeding, so we decided to wake up at 1:30am and get ready to leave after that feeding. We arrived at my childhood home by 8am. It was nice having the remainder of the day to rest and plan out trip. That evening the husband and I wanted to take a stroll down memory lane on Auburn University, where our love began and grew. We took the two kiddos, shared a Toomer’s lemonade with our daughter, allowed her to run around on campus, and took pictures at the iconic areas. Our 7th wedding anniversary was coming up, so it was nice visiting where the love began. We also ate at our favorite Mexican restaurant in Auburn. Our daughter told us she wanted to go to Auburn too, because she had so much fun. On Saturday, Auburn University’s College of Agriculture hosted their Ag Discovery Adventure. It is an amazing program that introduces kids, and people in general, about the importance of agriculture. (A little background on me: I studied animal science for 2 yrs in the COA and obtained a minor in rural sociology. In other words, agriculture is near and dear to my heart.) I was excited to experience this day with my daughter. Although we had a few SPD meltdowns with the overstimulation of excitement, it was overall a great time. She told me her favorite part was petting the “mommy and baby horse”. It was a Quarter Horse mare and a miniature horse. Haha! It delighted me. That evening we ate at a local restaurant on Lake Martin, where I grew up eating almost every Saturday night, Oskars. We met my husband’s parents, brother, uncle, grandmother, and my grandmother. They were all excited to meet our new addition. He received many many hugs, kisses, and cuddles. Sunday, we decided to take the kiddos to Horseshoe Bend Park to mainly have a picnic and allow the daughter to run around. Then, the husband took the kids to visit his aunt and other grandmother in his hometown. I went back to Auburn and rode horses with my bestie from college and ate dinner with my other bestie from college. It was a much needed moment. On Monday, we decided to head back to Savannah since the county allowed residences back in. 

I have to admit, the whole trip back home, made me homesick. I miss my friends. I miss the country. I miss the Alabama culture. One day I hope to have my Alabama mansion with a horse barn. I know my husband would be happy coming back home too. 

Leave a Reply

