Run While You Can!

If you didn’t know, there is a hurricane moving up the east coast of the U.S. We live in Savannah, Ga; one of the areas the hurricane will hit. Yesterday, all of the islands were under a mandatory evacuation. That was upgraded to several counties, including the one we live in. So, we evacuated at 3 this morning. We figured it would be easier to pack up and leave with a 3 year old and 3.5 week old over staying without power and possible damage. We decided to use the opportunity to visit our Alabama family. Our main concern with our Savannah home is flooding. 

Local news stations were reporting flooding in the downtown area even before the hurricane hit. Some areas of Savannah flood during a strong afternoon rain storm. It is a no brainer that flooding is the major issue with this hurricane. Unfortunately the storm is going to hit during high tide. The islands have already suffered damage. 

If you recall, my birthday was on Wednesday. I spent the entire day prepping for this hurricane. One of my gifts was the new iPad…guess how I am typing this post. Yep! I’m on the iPad! It is so amazing! đŸ˜€ 

Because arrived in Alabama so early, we were able to spend the evening in my hometown of Auburn. We took the kids to the university to explore. Our daughter had a blast. When we put her to bed tonight, there wasn’t any resistance. She was out like a light. 

Honestly, I am going to bed too. I’ve been up since 1:30am. I didn’t go to bed until 10:30pm. I saw where Auburn University’s College of Agriculture is hosting their Ag Discovery Adventure program in the morning. I wanted to take the kids; but living in Savannah makes things like that hard to do. Due to the evacuation to Alabama, I am able to take them tomorrow. I know my daughter will love the experience. Our son is happy being baby worn by me. I am excited to see some old colleagues and professors. I hold a soft spot for the College of Ag in my heart. I loved the couple of years I studied Animal Science and Rural Sociology. It was such a close-knit group. 

I hope to see so many there! 

Please say a prayer and keep the areas affected by Hurricane Matthew on your mind. Hopefully we will be able to return to Savannah soon.

Leave a Reply

