409ec6ef803e69423e2ec1007c0faa6a

I had to share this meme: 1) I love watching ‘I love Lucy’ re-runs. 2) This is totally how I feel 99.9% of the time. I mean, when you get up 4 times a night to potty (minimum) and to flip over from sore hip to sore hip every 2 hours, you do not wake up feeling rested. Which I think is kind of inconsiderate of our pregnant bodies. I understand it is trying to train me for multiple wake ups and constant tiredness; but right before labor? I need the rest and energy! Is lack of sleep really necessary? Uh, no, it isn’t. It’s like becoming pre-tired before the total, delusional exhaustion period. I don’t think there is anyway to prepare for that type of tiredness. Because I tend to be so tired, it takes me all day long to do simple tasks that would otherwise take no time. For example, empting and loading the dishwasher. I empty a little here, a little there…get contractions, go lay down, make my way back to the dishwasher. I feel like I walk and stand hinged forward at the hips now to accommodate the contractions, hip, and back pain. I have my midwife appointment tomorrow. I wonder if the midwife will want to do a cervical check to see if I am dilated or effaced any.

You know, that is one thing about labor that annoys me. You don’t know when it is going to start or how. My husband jokes about my high pain tolerance and strict scheduling habits all the time; that I will go to the appointment and be 8cm dilated. Then, I could just text him to pick up our daughter from school on his lunch break, I can have the baby, he swings by to pick us up, and he takes our daughter to gymnastics that evening after work. Haha! That is probably what I would do if I had a say so. Also, if last time, I had waited for the “tell tell sign” of my water to break, the husband would have been delivering the kid in the driveway. Of course, now he confidently says he could deliver this baby after watching it done before. He is an engineer, after all. <wife gives eyeroll> 🙂

I thought I could cook spaghetti last night. Bad idea! I guess all the movement, pan carrying, and standing upset the uterus. My lower back began to ache, my lower belly began to tighten (not quite like contractions from last labor), and I was so physically tired. I wasn’t able to take a nap yesterday, and I think that had a lot to do with it. We put our kid down to bed at 7:30 and we were in bed by 8. We just hung out, shared memes, and whispered about our day. It was nice, actually. We were sound asleep by 9:30 though.

b4c0444a80513652e4cb21124f59d069

While we want the baby to grow until full-term, we also want to meet this little guy too. We want to watch his little personality to develop, watch his big sister interact with him, and just adjust to life as parents of two. We are just so excited about this new chapter! It is difficult to put into words our mixed emotions. Oh, and our daughter, she is just so excited. She can barely contain it. Last night when I was laying on the couch, breathing through the discomfort, she came over and asked me if baby brother was coming tonight. She even brought over a pillow and blanket, put it under my head, covered me up, sat right next to me, rubbed my shoulders, and told me she was here for me/you can do it mommy. It was pretty awesome. She even got out her doctor kit and check my blood pressure, temperature, heartbeat, and knee reflex. Haha! I was diagnosed as good, but needed to go to bed.

I didn’t take my nap yesterday because my daughter’s teacher called me. My heart sank. I just knew she was going to tell me it wasn’t going to work out this year. However, it was positive! She just wanted to let me know how much she enjoys my daughter and that they will have a great year together. It was so refreshing to hear! The teacher said she noticed a few patterns that upset my daughter, but nothing unmanageable. She said she loves to watch her play and interact with the other kids. It made me feel good that the teacher has such a positive attitude about the school year. Although the kiddo bit another kid today, the teacher said that is normal for all kids to do at some point and time. (That’s a new one for us.) My kid sat in time out and apologized to the classmate and teacher for her bad behavior.  It was more like “Kids will be kids. We’ll do better tomorrow.” The whole ordeal lacked the disapproving lecture and drama of the previous school’s attitude, as if she was the only kid to ever bite another. We just seem to fit much better at this new school. I was asked to be room mom, which would have been awesome. But with the baby coming any day, it would have been difficult to fully fill the role. I did express that I would be more than happy to assist the room mom if she ever needed anything. I am hoping next year I can volunteer.

It is almost 9pm my time, so I’m off to bed. Tomorrow is full of school, midwife appointment, and gymnastics. Gosh, I hope I can keep up.

Leave a Reply

