23/24 week check up

I gained a whopping 10 pounds since my last midwife appointment, 4 weeks ago. The last appointment was my 20 week check up with ultrasound. The ultrasound not only revealed we are having a baby boy; but he is measuring a week behind, at 19 weeks. However, it isn’t anything to be concerned about. He simply could have not gone through the common growth spurt at 19-22 weeks. Since I had not gained any weight since the last appointment; that was the agreed upon explanation. This week, he obliviously went through the growth spurt. For one thing, I was starving for a couple of days. I was constantly snacking. My belly has grown enough that I need to buy some official maternity tops. (My poor church/professional tops are not going to work anymore.) I was crampy/stretchy, if that makes any sense, for a couple of days. Lastly, the scale jumped up a few pounds within two days. (Yikes!)

I am on a split week schedule now. I am 24 weeks along; baby is 23 weeks along. It can get confusing, especially when people ask me how far along I am. I just stick to my original schedule of 24 weeks, rather than explain the difference. The midwife discussed signs of pre-term labor with me. (Since I went into labor at 36 weeks last time.) She also advised me not to travel too far, 2-3 hours at the most, once I hit the 30 week mark. That last one will be hard to follow due to our families and friends living 6 hours away.

I am hoping to figure out a routine with the daughter, now that she is home with me full time. It stopped my ability to workout at the gym. I don’t have weights at home either. I’m not sure when I will be able to go back to the gym, which sucks. All I can do is stay active with the daughter, try to work in some 30 minute walks through out the day, and remain on a healthy diet. Hopefully, that will keep me on track to a healthy, easy labor and delivery.

Leave a Reply

