Distance Makes the Heart Grow Fonder

Or that’s the expression, at least. I’m not sure if my heart could grow any fonder of my husband. He really is my whole world, along with our daughter. Every time he has to travel without us, I am reminded how much I depend on him. (And how much I take him for granted!) Not only is he the financial provider for our family, which allows me to be a stay at home mom (aka the money spender). I depend on him much more than that. He is my best friend. A lot of the time, he is the only other adult I get to converse with within the day. He is my link to the outside world. He is a great father and takes over when he sees I am exhausted. (Which is every evening, pretty much.) He even helps with the dishes, cleaning up after supper, and packing his own lunch for the next day. (All the while being exhausted too.) He is super husband and super dad. I have zero worries about his ability to handle this baby boy on the way.

I’ve been going through all of our baby stuff to see what we need to sell or keep. Plus, our daughter’s 3rd birthday was yesterday. All of it has reminded me what a great doula he was. Really, he was there encouraging me through each contraction. It meant so much that he was on the same page as me for an un-medicated, vaginal birth. He even watched a few YouTube videos with me. (He may be able to skin and gut wildlife, but he cannot handle people stuff. Haha!) He was there to stand up for me when people doubted my ability to give birth without medication. Afterwards, he was proudly telling those doubters my accomplishment.

I try to tell him how much he means to me; but it never comes out right. Really, there aren’t words to describe my love and appreciation for him. I’m not as precious as our daughter, who can simply say, “Thank you, Daddy. I love you!” I hope he realizes how much he means to me. I know I couldn’t go through life without him.

Leave a Reply

