Homemade Beef Stroganoff

It has been a while since I’ve posted a recipe. Since I am pregnant, I am not as strict with my carb intake. With that said, I still watch WHAT TYPE of carbs I consume. I keep it complex with whole wheat, fruits, and veggies. When I was training I kept my carbs limited to fruits and veggies, with very little pastas or breads. I cannot lie though. I have had my fair share of cheats. Haha! My midwife is happy with my weight gain. I am right on track where I should be, with 6 pounds gained. Exercise is important too! So, back to that recipe. I search Pinterest and look at several recipes, until I come up with a version I would like. Usually, I would keep it healthier with omitting “creams of soups”, but I didn’t fill like making my own. You’ll need: 1# Lean Ground Beef, dash of salt and pepper, 2tsp. Garlic powder, 1tbsp Parsley, 1/2cup chopped Onion (I omitted), 15oz beef broth, 10oz can Cream of Mushroom soup, 1/2cup milk, 1/2# small, dry pasta (I used whole wheat rotini), and 3/4cup Sour Cream

You can make this in one pan, if it is big enough and has a lid. First, sit out your sour cream and allow it to come to room temperature while you cook. Cook and season the beef. (You could sauté the onion first, then add the meat.) Drain the grease from the pan. Add beef broth, cream of soup, milk, and pasta to meat. Bring to boil on medium-high heat. Then, cover and allow to simmer on low for 15-20 minutes. It depends on how soft you want your pasta. The sauce will still be pretty thin. Once you add the sour cream, it will thicken up.

There you have it! It was way better than that boxed processed stuff. I hope you enjoy it too!

 

Leave a Reply

