Free Freelancing

If you had told me one day I would be writing a blog (with followers & shares!) and freelancing my writing skills, I would have laughed in your face. In the nicest way possible, though!

Throughout school, I loathed writing papers for English and Literature classes. {I mean, why should I have to read a book, then retell it to you?! Or come up with an elaborate theory on the author’s opinion, who was more than likely a dead drunk druggie?! Let me tell you, nothing takes the pleasure out of reading more than that looming over your head.} Teachers would always leave these comments in the margins: “develop your content”, “be concise”, “you didn’t meet the page requirement”, or “numerous grammatical errors”. To my defense, how in the world do you develop your content, while being concise, and meet a 5 page requirement on an 150 page book that made absolutely no sense…because the author was deliriously high? I won’t even get into grammatical errors. My writing foundations began in poorly funded rural public schools. Enough said. I quickly began disliking writing all together; especially in college, where every professor has a different writing opinion. I swore my adult job would not require any more writing than an email. Fast forward to my nearly 30 year old adult self, working as a stay-at-home mom, blogging and freelance editing/writing in her spare time. As the saying goes in the South, “Who woulda thunk it?”

As you know, I am all about that midwife life. Actually, I am about promoting proper educational background on what the midwifery model of care looks like. Also, promoting the use of midwives in areas where OBs are over worked and maternity/pre- and post-natal care is scarce or lacking proper medical grades. (Eh, hem, Alabama. I’m looking at you.) My tactic to promote this in my home state of Alabama is by social media, getting the word out. I use my Facebook page to share and post about midwifery, midwifery legislation, and supporting birthing options for other women. I also use my blog to publish posts detailing the same information, which is shared on Facebook. Then shared by my friends and the ABC group. Through doing that, I’ve made everlasting bonds with other women with traumatic birth stories. One of those friends has come to me to help her share her story at the fast approaching Alabama legislation committee hearing with my writing and editing skills. I was delighted, honored, and flattered that she wanted me to take on such a personal and huge task. Of course, I said yes!

So, here I am reading and editing her traumatic, devastating birth story into a quick read flyer for Alabama representatives that most likely do not give two sh!ts about her story. (Excuse this Southern belle’s French; but that’s the cold hard truth of it.) I don’t know if it is because I am hormonal and pregnant; but reading such a personal, heartbreaking experience was overwhelming to me. I am extremely good at compartmentalizing my emotions, where I am often mistaken for being cold and callous. That is my coping technique. It also allows me to look at things in an “overall big picture” sense and give compelling writing results. However this morning, while I was trying to edit and re-write her words, I was in tears for my friend. The birth story of her daughter is gut wrenching. I’m talking, the most unimaginable, pain-filled outcome happened to her family. What she and her family experienced is the nightmare of any mother or pregnant woman. Yet, her family has courageously faced it, in a way I know I couldn’t. I’ve always heard from mothers’ that have lost a child that it is the worst emotional pain you could experience. I’ve known mothers’ who’ve lost their adult child and could not emotionally cope with it. Something to forever scar their hearts and souls. My friend went through agonizing labor to never be able to hold her precious daughter alive, never make one lasting memory with her, not even capture one image of her life. Could you imagine that? And, yet, my friend has decided to use her loss to educate and promote women on the dangers of the medical model of care that is rampantly promoted for pregnancy, to change how Alabama views women’s rights in birth, give her daughter everlasting life through giving women better birthing options with HB 284, and possibly preventing future women from experiencing the same traumatic loss. How courageous and strong my friend is!

This new writing assignment is tough. I hope I can give it the justice it deserves. Most of all, I hope I can give my friend’s story such compelling movement and emotion; that it speaks to the hearts of those representatives to support HB 284.

 

Leave a Reply

