Hello, elastic.

I am at that stage of pregnancy where my regular clothes do not fit as well, but I’m not ready for maternity clothes either. The weather has been high 70s, low 80s and perfect for shorts. All of my shorts are too small! I found one size bigger in a stack of “Goodwill” clothes. They are uncomfortably tight, just around my lower belly. I can fasten them, but sitting in them is uncomfortably tight. I’m not sure why, but I love shorts with hook fasteners; instead of the button. I could work with the button and use the rubber band trick. That is what I do with my jeans. It is too warm for jeans though! I’ve been wearing gym shorts with the drawstrings or elastic waistbands. However, gym shorts aren’t for every occasion. Haha! I’m kinda lost as what to do. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

I cannot believe next week I will be 14 weeks and entering my 4th month. The first trimester has been SO easy, unlike with my daughter. (I couldn’t even leave the house, much less the bathroom. Morning sickness was 24 hours and brutal.) This go around, I’ve only experienced some tiredness in the afternoon, quicker tiredness during workouts, and slight nausea after eating onions. It is amazing how different the pregnancies have been.

I would like to workout more. However, my schedule lately has been taking my mornings away. I only make it to the gym to lift weights once a week, I would like at least twice. I still try to go on quick runs. I would like to add on a prenatal yoga video that I did during my first pregnancy. Since I am no longer riding horses and strength training as much, my body fat has increased some. While the number on the scale has only went up a few pounds. (Muscle weighs more than fat, so it makes sense that they basically off set each other.) My main focus has been healthy eating. I believe that is helping me gain the appropriate amount of weight. Small nutritious meals 6-8 times a day and lots and lots and lots of water. I’ve significantly increased my carb and dairy intake from when I was training.

My eating schedule goes: 4:45AM- Nutrigrain/Fiber One bar, 7AM- Eggs, Bacon/Sausage, WW toast or Raisin Bran cereal with fruit, 10AM- Fruit, 12PM- leftovers from previous supper or sandwich, 4PM- Nuts with dried fruit or yogurt with granola, 6PM- Supper (Lean protein, 2 Veggies, & Complex Carbs), 8:30-9PM- Fruit or Yogurt or small dessert.

My goal is not only a healthy pregnancy to grow a healthy baby, but after the baby is delivered, my body to snap back into shape fairly quickly. At least easier than the 70 pounds I lost last time. Weight gain in pregnancy is inevitable and a necessity, but keeping it monitored is important too. With that said, I’m going to go indulge in the cannoli my awesome husband surprised me with from our favorite coffee shop. What?! I have to develop baby’s taste buds.

Leave a Reply

