Welcome Back, Here’s a Recipe

Today was my first day back in the gym. It feels great to be back. While I’m not lifting as heavy as when I quit, I am lifting heavier than when I began so many months ago. I am super happy about that. I am hopeful to bounce back fairly quickly. We shall see. Before, I was primarily using the machines. I often left the gym feeling like I needed to run 4 miles to complete my workout. I prefer a metabolic workout that combines strength and cardio. My muscles feel exhausted and I am winded during the workout. I am excited to build my repertoire.

Tonight I tried a Paleo meatloaf I found on Pinterest. It was one of those pins you click on, then click on another link, then another, another, and finally you find the recipe. So, I’m not sure who to give credit to. I cut the recipe in half, because I didn’t want two huge loaves. (Especially if it was a fail.) My mini-me was distracting, uh, helping me by grabbing everything imaginable off the island. I thought better about having the egg out for the grabbing and totally forgot to put it in the meatloaf. In the words of my mini-me, “Happens.”

The recipe:

1.5 pounds lean ground beef or turkey / 1 egg / 1 sm. onion (I used red) / 1 garlic clove / 1 8oz tomato sauce (I use Hunts no salt) / 1/4 cup almond meal or flour / 1/2 Tbsp. Italian seasonings / Dash of paprika and black pepper (and salt if needed)

Directions: Preheat oven to 350 F. In a large bowl, mix all the above ingredients, expect reserve 3oz of tomato sauce for topping the meatloaf. Spray a loaf pan and place mixture within. Bake for 1 hour or until internal temperature reaches 165F. On the last 10 minutes, pour remaining tomato sauce on top.

Overall the meatloaf was pretty good. I thought the loaf was dense from the almond meal. Next time, I will remember the egg and use whole wheat bread crumbs. (Yeah, that doesn’t qualify as paleo anymore.) However, I think it would make the texture better. I paired the meal with roasted cauliflower and asparagus.

Now, I need to watch the National Championship game between Alabama and Clemson. I’m cheering for Clemson. 1.) I’m an Auburn fan, so I shall never cheer for Bama. 2.) Clemson and Auburn share a lot of history. Clemson is called Auburn on a Lake 3.) Clemson has a creamery. Enough said, ice cream gets me every time.

 

Leave a Reply

