Mahi Tacos!

I love fish tacos, especially mahi mahi. I was 25 before I finally tried the amazing-ness of mahi tacos at a Panama City Beach restaurant. (What can I say? I was making the trip a wild one.) 25 completely wasted years. Joking! However, those tacos can be calorie and carb laden. So, I prefer to make my own healthy version. I will share this amazing-ness with you!

First, I season my mahi mahi fillet (6-8oz) by lightly rubbing olive oil on the meat, then sprinkle FlavorGod’s chipotle seasonings on it. Then, broil the fillet in the oven until done, about 8-10 minutes. While that is cooking, prep your whole wheat soft taco shells with all the fresh “fixins”. I’m not a fan of avocado, but I will mix it with a hint of sour cream. I allow that mixture to be my cool creamy component of the taco. Then add, fresh cilantro, pico de gallo (Whole Food’s is my fave!), a sprinkle of cheese (I prefer Sargento’s 4 State cheddar, but any will do), and some shredded cabbage for that crunch. Now, add the mahi! There’s your taco! I like to pair this dish with a light side of black beans and corn. Or a Santa Fe Salad, which is black beans, corn, cilantro, red onion, red bell pepper, jalapeño pepper, a sprinkle of cumin and black pepper, lime juice, and a touch of olive oil. Scrumptious! I don’t really have any measurements for the above salad. I do mix the olive oil and lime juice in a separate bowl, then pour over the other ingredients. Sometimes, I will even add diced avocado too.

Ah, I could eat them everyday! It is definitely one of my splurge meals. To make it healthier just withhold the cheese and sour cream. You could even do this as a lettuce wrap or cabbage leaf wrap to cut carbs. Please remember, not all carbs are bad. Your body does need some carbs to function properly.

Book Update: I am almost finished with the Parenting with Purpose book. I have learned a lot from it and cannot wait to share with you. I just need to carve out 15 minutes of “Don’t bother Mommy/Wife” to finish it. Haha!

Leave a Reply

