Detox & Replensh

It seems a high percentage of New Year resolutions tend to focus around losing weight, fitness, and health. So, allow me to help you out. I am going through a sugar and (simple) carb detox now. It is hard! Especially, when you threw moderation to the wind and ate whatever you wanted, resulting in a 5 pound gain and tight jeans over the Holidays. Yeah, I am ashamed. It doesn’t help when you love to make sweet confectioneries, gifted sweet confectioneries, and cannot resist sweet confectioneries.

The detox is rough: the irritability, the headaches, the cravings, lack of energy, and the HUNGER. By 3 pm, I NEED sugar! So, I try to take a short nap to help with the energy crash. **Do not drink or eat anything to give you an energy boost. You could drink black or unsweetened coffee.** During this time, my nose can sniff out the tiniest grain of sugar. I rid my pantry of any unhealthy foods. I have to be strong! Drink water & eat my homemade nut mix, a stick of cheese, Quark, or fruit as snacks. Eat 6-8 small meals. Get some fresh air. (My kid loves to go outside and explore.) Keep your portion sizes in check. To combat the constant hunger, I make sure my breakfast, lunch, and dinner/supper are nutritious. Last night, I cooked salmon, sweet potatoes, and squash. Here is the recipe:

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees F. On a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper, place washed/unpeeled sweet potatoes. Pop in the oven for 1 – 1 1/2 hours, depending on size. Next, chop washed squash into cubes and chop some onion (yellow or red) into cubes. Place in a bowl, drizzle olive oil or melted ghee over mixture, and season with FlavorGod’s garlic lovers. Toss mixture and pour into a pyrex type dish, large enough that the mixture isn’t crowded. Bake for 40 min. and stir occasionally. Finally, with 20 mins. remaining on the baking timer, foil wrap salmon, seasoned anyway you like (I use Chef Paul’s Salmon seasoning. Go light on the seasonings, most contain sugar, salt, and preservatives.) I also lightly massage olive oil onto the fish to keep it moist and seasoning stuck on. With 5 mins. remaining, I open the foil packet salmon to allow to cook directly under the heat. I enjoy the texture it gives the salmon. Once it is done, I cut open my sweet potato, add a little KerryGold butter or Ghee and sprinkle FlavorGod’s Pumpkin Pie on it.

There you go, enjoy! It is full of healthy fats, complex carbs, proteins, vitamins, and minerals. Make sure you go to bed at a reasonable time, healthy foods tend to absorb quickly, and late night snacking will get you into trouble.

Leave a Reply

