Baby, it’s HOT outside.

Christmas is right around the corner, ready to knock on our door. However, it was 81 degrees (F) today. It also rained just enough to make it more humid…and stir up the giant mosquitos. It does not feel like December, much less Christmas. I am wearing gym shorts and a tank top. I live in Savannah, Ga. It should be colder. I am lucky enough to be married to a polar bear, who prefers to keep the AC on 60. (And it is that high for the child and I.) Maybe, I will break out the Christmas sweaters after all.

With the unusual warm weather, I am having a hard time remembering Christmas is almost here. I haven’t mailed our cards yet. In fact, I probably should be addressing them instead of blogging. But, hey, a little procrastination never hurt anybody. Right? Also, I need to finish my gift shopping list too. We’ve taken care of the kid. Unfortunately, the husband and I are procrastinating on each others’ gifts. (I did order a few today.) Still, there are a couple which require me to go to a store and interact with people. <Jimmy Fallon voice: Ewww!> My husband actually offered to go buy his own gifts…I might take him up on that. (The man is hard to shop for! Actually, he is picky.)

To find my Christmas spirit, I’ve been watching all of my favorite movies. Elf, The Polar Express, A Christmas Story, National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation, and plenty more. The kiddo opens a new winter/Christmas themed book every night before bed too. Plus, she makes up cute little songs to Jingle Bells and Rudolph. I make it a point to turn on all the lights, listen to music, and eat all the treats. (Ugh, January sugar detox, anyone?)

This week is busy. Friday, the kiddo’s school is having a Christmas party (to celebrate not having to deal with the boogers until January…haha!) I signed up to bring cheese snacks and read a story. That knocks out the morning. Friday night is when we have our party at the house. So, all this week I will be preparing hor d’oeuvres and cleaning. I need to pick up a few last minute groceries that need to be as fresh as possible. It is supposed to rain every morning too. I want to work in runs and workouts within the week. In the words of my daughter, “Super busy!” Next week, family comes to visit for a few days. All of this is keeping me prepped for Christmas, despite the warm temperatures.

Most of all, I am looking forward to watching my daughter open all of her gifts. This is her first cognitive Christmas. Her excitement rubs off on me.

Although, I will keep hoping for cooler temps. Bring on the sweaters, jeans, fuzzy socks, and boots!

Leave a Reply

