Schedules Are My Favorite!

My husband is a “fly by the seat of your pants” kind of guy. He can tolerate a little scheduling, like eating lunch at the same time. However, most of the time, he enjoys waking up and deciding what and when to do stuff. If something isn’t finished, there’s always tomorrow.

I am completely opposite. I’m like Buddy the Elf and smiling. I just like to schedule, scheduling’s my favorite! Among scheduling, I plan and make lists. I think they go hand in hand. I make weekly meal plans. I make lists for the groceries. I plan out my day the day before, which resembles most of my days. So, it was only natural, when we found out we were having a baby, I began scheduling, planning, and making lists.

Just like her father, she flung a wrench into all of those plans, and came a month early. Unlike her father, she enjoys a good schedule/routine. We tried the “on demand feeding” and “winging it” methods for a couple months; but I couldn’t handle it. I wasn’t sleeping, because I was feeding every 15 minutes, pumping every 30 minutes, and constantly holding her in hopes to calm her; and I began to lose my mind. {I was seriously having a hard time adjusting and controlling my emotions.} I felt like I was being told what to do by everyone. “You aren’t holding her enough”, “You could be more motherly”, “give up breastfeeding and put her on formula”, “welcome to motherhood”. One bit of advice from my pediatrician helped me…read BabyWise and apply what you need. That book changed everything…among a few other pieces of info…it had SCHEDULES! Of course, I researched it before applying and found extremely hateful/negative opinions about it. However, I didn’t use it for word for word. I basically modified the schedules to work for us. {I also found out my daughter had acid reflux and my breastmilk production was insufficient.} She was 3 months old and already lifting her head and trying to scoot around; but underweight. So we began acid reflux meds (life changer), allowed her to belly sleep (life changer), formula/breastmilk feed (life changer), and implemented a sleep/feed schedule (life changer). She thrived being on a schedule and I claimed my sanity back. I learned motherhood didn’t mean my life had to be in chaos.

So, naturally, we are still on a schedule. Yesterday, daughter was out of pre-school for Veterans’ Day. We had the whole day together, just the two of us. I planned out our day: breakfast, exercise/playground trip, snack, independent play/housework, lunch, arts and craft, nap, snack, interactive play/outside play/reading time, independent play/cook dinner, let Daddy take over/give Mommy a break, bath, and bedtime. I find with a schedule our day goes by quickly and smoother.

Being a mom doesn’t mean your day has to be in complete chaos all the time. Even if you live a busy lifestyle. Implement a schedule! It can be as small as a laundry schedule, so you never run out of clean clothes. I encourage you to start scheduling. You might find some extra time!

Leave a Reply

