Transformations

I love looking at the submitted body transformations on different fitness websites. For me, they serve as inspiration to not give up.

I had a homework assignment for my daughter that required me to look at old pictures of me. The results were shocking to me. <insert Lucy Ricardo’s “Ewww” face>

I have been undergoing a transformation for two years. I have lost over 55 pounds! Changing my mental mind set has been the hardest part about this transformation. When I look in the mirror, I still see the miserable, over weight me. I still pick out extra large clothes, just to realize, I need a small.

I think back to when I began this weight loss journey, 2 months after my daughter was born. We went on a beach trip. I was so embarrassed of my post-baby body that I refused to buy a bathing suit. I was just going to sit on the beach in my maternity shorts and shirt. Our beach access required a quarter mile walk. And I felt like I was dying. I knew then, I needed to change. Fast forward a couple more months, and I still couldn’t fit into regular clothes. I wanted to walk my daughter to the neighborhood park to play. It was only a half mile away…and I felt like I was dying again.

So, I began making that walk every day. I would add another road to it each week. Then, I joined a gym and changed my eating habits. Now, I run 3.5 miles as a lazy day. I’m in the gym lifting weights. I ride horses. I chase my kid around the yard, playground, and anywhere else. She enjoys having an active mommy. She likes to play “exercise”; as I workout at home, doing push ups, planking, and sit ups with me.

Looking back on that beach photo, I cannot believe how far I have come. It has been a beautiful transformation. It has taught me that with enough determination, I can achieve anything!

July 2013

July 2013

20150905_112838

Sept. 2015

 

4 thoughts on “Transformations

Leave a Reply

