An Enchilada Twist

Last night I made a healthy twist on an enchilada and Mexican rice recipe I found on Pinterest, forever ago. I will admit, I never follow a recipe to the “T”. I always change up something to make it my own. Finding healthy Latino based food can be hard! And it is one of my favorites! My husband, the official taste tester, gave this meal the seal of approval.

I’ve been a little more busy lately, since my 2 yr. old began a half day pre-school program. They sent her home with an homework assignment on the first day! It is easy enough. I have to make an “all about me” poster for the teacher to display within the class, so the other students can learn about each other. Going through the photo archive arsenal takes the most time! I take too many pictures!

Because I am a little stretched on time, I used canned ingredients. (Gasp! I know! I’m probably giving my family cancer.) I try to buy frozen or dried goods & Crock Pot them to life. Or I will try to find a pouch packaged variety. If you shop at health food stores, that it easy (and expensive). I made sure to buy the cans that did not include salt or certain preservatives. (Our Publix is fairly good at stocking those choices.)

Ok, The recipe: Pre-heat the oven to 400F. Place 3-4 trimmed chicken breasts on a greased glass dish. I used a 9X13 pyrex. I spiced the chicken with FlavorGod’s chipotle and everything spicy seasonings.  Then pour 1 can of whole kernel corn, 1 can of drained and rinsed black beans, 1 can of enchilada sauce, and 1/2 cup of  Mexican blend cheese on top of the chicken. Baked covered for 30 mins, then uncovered for 15-20 mins. (depends on chicken size). I garnish it with another 1/2 Mexican blend cheese, cilantro, chopped green onions, black olives, and a dab of sour cream.

I like to serve this on my “Mexican” brown rice. You could even make a burrito using whole wheat tortillas or Flatout’s protein flatbread cut in half.

My “Mexican” Brown Rice recipe: I use Lundberg’s long grain brown rice. I make it according to the directions on the package. Instead of water, I use no salt chicken broth (you can even use vegetable). Once the rice comes to a boil & you need to lower the temperature and cover, pour in a 1/4 of your favorite salsa. That’s it!

This stuff is even better the next day…I always make leftovers for lunch the next day!

Healthy Enchilada

Leave a Reply

